TO:	Chairs, All Soil and Water Conservation Districts
FROM:	Dale Farnham, Chair of State Soil Conservation Committee and Robert Lynch, President of Conservation Districts of Iowa
DATE:	February 22, 2016
RE:	INFORMATION (INFO) Contests and Awards Iowa Soil Conservation Awards Program (ISCAP) Izaak Walton League Windbreak Award Ken Wagner Award

Outstanding SWCD Commissioner Award Outstanding Watershed Award Ruth Wagner Award Woodland Owner of the Year Award CDI Honorary Member Award

We are writing to remind you that soil and water conservation district commissioners have several opportunities throughout the year to recognize individuals who are making outstanding contributions toward soil conservation and water quality. One way to accomplish this is through the many awards programs available to you. Although it is somewhat early in the process, we suggest that you study the criteria for each award listed above and begin thinking about your selections. Further suggest that one commissioner be appointed as "Awards Committee Chair", thus to devote sufficient time to this important task.

Many districts limit their awards program to specific and traditional awards that have been popular in the past. Perhaps this year your district might expand your current program by adding to your annual work plan a category that was not previously entered and submit an entry for this year.

Please take special note of the Ken Wagner and Ruth Wagner Awards. The Ken Wagner Award is for commissioners with less than five years' experience. The Ruth Wagner Award is for the outstanding assistant commissioner.

Again in 2016, Van Wall Group of Perry will be donating the use of a John Deere 6D Series utility tractor to the ISCAP – Conservation Farmer of the Year. The winner will have the free use of the tractor for up to 12 months or up to 200 hours! Note that the awards promotion for Conservation Farmer of the Year allows people to nominate farmers by providing to the District a name and brief summary. See the press release for more details (attachment: Nomination being accepted for Iowa Conservation Farmer of the Year). IDALS/DSCWQ would like each District to help complete the nominations for these summaries and each District can submit one nomination to your Area Office to be considered for your Region.

All 100 districts may participate by sending a nomination for the Outstanding Commissioner Award. This award is given on a statewide basis. Past state winners and present officers or directors of CDI are not eligible; however, past regional winners are eligible.

The following are the due dates and locations to send the nominations for awards. You can find the award forms attached to this email or on CDI's website (<u>www.cdiowa.org</u>).

- Iowa Soil Conservation Awards Program (ISCAP)
  - Farmer of the Year (open to self-nomination) Due June 15 at Area Office (Area office will forward to DSCWQ by July 1)
  - Teacher of the Year (open to self-nomination) Due July 1 at DSCWQ Office
- Izaak Walton League Windbreak Award **Due July 1 at DSCWQ Office** (Please include at least one color photograph)
- Ken Wagner Award (open to self-nomination) Due July 1 at DSCWQ office
- Outstanding SWCD Commissioner Due July 1 at DSCWQ Office
- Outstanding Watershed Award Due July 1 at DSCWQ Office
- Ruth Wagner Award (open to self-nomination) Due July 1 at DSCWQ office
- Woodland Owner of the Year **Due July 1 Send entries to district forester**
- CDI Honorary Member Due July 1 to DSCWQ office

Good luck this year with your district awards programs. If you have any questions, please call David Strom at (515) 281-5142.

## Attachments

cc: CDI Officers & Regional Directors, Clare Lindahl, Paul Tauke, Aaron Lumley, Laura Crowell, Vince Sitzmann