

78th ANNUAL CONFERENCE SCHEDULE

SUNDAY, A	UGUST 18, 2024	LOCATION
12:00 Noon	Registration Table Opens	Hallway
3:00 p.m.	CDI Regional Director's Board Meeting	Cardinal

MONDAY, AUGUST 19, 2024		LOCATION
7:00 a.m.	Registration Opens	Hallway
8:45 a.m.	Registration Closes	Hallway
9:00 a.m.	 Welcome Jeri Thornsberry, President, Conservation Districts of Iowa Steve Hofmann, Chair, State Soil Conservation and Water Quality Committee and retired Army Member Pledge of Allegiance Dennis Carlson, Member, State Soil Conservation and Water Quality Committee Welcome Mike Naig, Iowa State Secretary of Agriculture Jon Hubbert, IA State Conservationist-NRCS 	Prairie
9:20 a.m.	Commissioners' Annual Business Meeting	Prairie
12:30 p.m.	Luncheon and Awards Presentation	Garden
1:30 p.m.	Resiliency: Intersection of Water Quality, Soil Health, and Changing Weather • Justin Glisan, Iowa State Climatologist	Garden
2:00 p.m.	Visit: • Iowa Learning Farm's new trailer in the parking lot with Conservation Station on the Edge, showcasing edge-of-field practices	Garden
3:00 p.m.	 Conservation Potpourri Leveraging Partnerships to Drive Conservation Adoption – Iowa Soybean Association RCPP Ben Porepp, ISA Agronomist 	Garden

MONDAY, A	UGUST 19, 2024	LOCATION
	 Cattle and Working Lands RCPPs Colton Barnes, Project Coordinator John Nitz, Northwest Iowa Farmer Five Year Plans – Highlighting Four SWCDs: Cedar, East Pottawatomie, Sioux, and Winneshiek Moderators: Alyssa Comer and Madison	
	and Open Discussion Amongst CommissionersModerator: Joe Hayes, CDI CommunicationsCoordinator	
4:30 p.m.	Social Hour and Visit Exhibits • Refreshments provided	Prairie
5:30 p.m.	Banquet and Awards Presentation Announcements 2023 State Poster Contest Winners Envirothon State Winner – Decorah Nerd Republic	Prairie
	 Award Presentations Lillian Howe, CDI Scholarship Recipient Jamie Beyer, 2023 Spencer Award Recipient Leopold Conservation Award Finalists Announcement 	
	Honoring Past PresidentsRamona Nitz, CDI Immediate Past President	
	 Key Note Address Embracing Regenerative Agriculture: Proactive Strategies Mitchell Hora, Founder / CEO at Continuum Ag 	
	 Conservation and My World from a Gen Z Poet Robin Hubbert, University of Iowa Student 	
	Note • Silent Auction closes at the end of evening	

TUESDAY, AUGUST 20, 2024		LOCATION
7:00 a.m.	Breakfast Buffet	Garden
	Each district will gather at tables assigned by regions	
7.45 0 00	for open discussion with fellow commissioners	Hellwey
7:45 a.m. 8:00 a.m.	Visit Exhibits	Hallway Garden
8:00 a.III.	 Pledge of Allegiance Kami Willet, Chair East Pottawatomie SWCD and 	Garden
	retired Air Force member	
	retired Air Force member	
	Announcements	
8:30 a.m.	Partner Updates and Presentations: What's New	Garden
	Since Spring Regionals?	
	Matt Russell, FSA	
	Curt Goettsch, FSA	
	Jerah Sheets, IDNR	
	Jon Hubbert, NRCS	
	Susan Kozak, IDALS	
	Will Myers, IDALS	
9:30 a.m.	Break and Visit Exhibits	Hallway
10:00 a.m.	Enriching Commissioner's Knowledge: Legal Primer –	Garden
	Understanding Commissioner Roles and	
	Responsibilities: Open Meetings, Open Records, and	
	Soil Loss Complaints	
11.00	Eric Dirth, Iowa Assistant Attorney General	
11:00 a.m.	Concurrent Workshop Sessions	
	(Choose Track #1 or Track #2)	
	<u>Track #1</u> (11:00 a.m. – 11:55 a.m.)	Prairie North
	Watershed Structures (PL 566) Open Discussion	France North
	Eric Dirth, Iowa Assistant Attorney General	
	Christian Osborn, NRCS	
	Mark McCurdy, NRCS	
	Jonathan Garton, Iowa DNR	
	Jonathan Garton, Iowa Bitti	
	Track #2_Two 25-minute Breakout Sessions	
	Session A (11:00 a.m. – 11:25 a.m.)	Prairie South
	A Future Look at Ethanol Industry and What it Means	
	to Iowa Farmers	
	Nathan Hohnstein, Policy Director, Iowa	
	Renewable Fuels Association	
	Section P. (11:20 a.m., 11:55 a.m.)	
	Session B (11:30 a.m. – 11:55 a.m.)	

TUESDAY, A	NUGUST 20, 2024	LOCATION
	Understanding Needs of Urban Gardeners and	
	Beginning FarmersShaffer Ridgeway, District Commissioner	
	 Jenna Curran, Conservation Assistant 	
	Jeri Thornsberry, Chair, Black Hawk SWCD	
12:00 noon	Luncheon and Awards Presentation	Garden
1:15 p.m.	Annual Conference Wrap-up / Safe Travels	Garden



lowa Soil and Water Commissioners' 2024 Annual Conference theme "Sowing Tomorrow's Harvest: Charting the Future of Soil and Water Conservation in lowa" was chosen to encourage soil and water commissioners to look ahead and envision the future of conservation efforts in lowa. It suggests a proactive approach to conservation, where stakeholders work together to plant the seeds of innovation, sustainability, and resilience in the soil and water systems of lowa. This theme underscores the importance of forward-thinking strategies and collaborative action to ensure a bountiful harvest of benefits for future generations.



CDI ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING AGENDA

	ITEM	RESPONSIBLE
I	Call to Order and Welcome	Jeri Thornsberry, President
II	Present Preliminary Credentials Report	Mary Ellen Miller, Secretary
III	Confirm Quorum	Jeri Thornsberry, President
IV	Adopt Rules Governing Meeting	Jeri Thornsberry, President
V	Adopt Agenda	Jeri Thornsberry, President
VI	Appoint 2024 Minutes Approval Committee, Timer, and Tellers	Jeri Thornsberry, President
VII	Receive Report of 2023 Annual Business Meeting Minutes	Mary Ellen Miller, Secretary
VIII	Present President's Report	Jeri Thornsberry, President
IX	Present Vice President's Report	Don Elsbernd, Vice President
Х	Present CDI Executive Director's Report	Dien Judge, Executive Director
XI	Present CDI Lobbyist's Report	Jim Obradovich, CDI Lobbyist
XII	Present Report of Annual Dues Paid	Jack Boyer, Treasurer
XIII	Present Updated Credentials Report	Mary Ellen Miller, Secretary
XIV	Present FY 2024 Financial Report and Approve FY2024 – 2025 CDI Annual Budget	Jack Boyer, Treasurer
XV	Present Nominations Committee Report	Ramona Nitz, Past-President, Nominations Committee Chair
XVI	Elect President and Vice President	Jeri Thornsberry, President
XVII	Present Resolutions Report	Jeri Thornsberry, President
XVIII	Discussion and Vote on Resolutions	Jeri Thornsberry, President
XIX	Vote to Archive Resolutions	Jeri Thornsberry, President
XX	Other Business	Jeri Thornsberry, President
XXI	Adjourn	Jeri Thornsberry, President