About CDI


Conservation Districts of Iowa informs, educates and leads Iowans through our local soil and water conservation districts to promote conservation of natural resourcesClick here to locate your county SWCD Office.


Conservation Districts of Iowa supports the soil and water conservation districts through public education, acknowledgment, commissioner development, policy, on-the-ground conservation, conservation practice promotion, events and more. Information about CDI programs and events can be found under the Programs & Calendar pages.


The 500 soil and water conservation district commissioners, five for every soil and water conservation district in Iowa, make up the Conservation Districts of Iowa’s membership. CDI’s day-to-day operations are governed by an Executive Board and Regional Directors. The 9 CDI Regional Directors each represent 9-13 counties in one of nine regions. CDI staff includes an Executive Director, Office & Projects Manager, Water Quality Specialist, 4 Private Lands Wildlife Specialists, 4 Private Lands Wetland Easement Team Specialists, and 2 Source Water Community Facilitators.

Organizational Information: 

Download CDI’s Bylaws, Policies and Procedures, Document Retention Policy, Conflict of Interest Policy, Joint Venture and Partnerships PolicyWhistleblower Protection Policy, Planned Giving Policies, Policy Statement – a compilation of resolutions, and Policy Statement Archive – a compilation of archived resolutions.

CDI Regional Map: Download

CDI Regions Map

CDI Executive Board & Staff:


Alex Schmidt, President
Johnson County

Dennis Carney, Vice President
Cerro Gordo County

Bob Lynch, Past President
Humboldt County

Jeri Thornsberry, Secretary
Black Hawk County

Jim Frederick, Treasurer
Sac County

Central Office Staff:

Linda King, Executive Director
315 E. 5th,  Suite 134,  Des Moines  50309
PH: 515-289-8300

LeKisha Franklin, Administrative Assistant
315 E. 5th,  Suite 134,  Des Moines  50309
PH: 515-289-8300


Field Office Staff:

Download Map and Contact Information Here

CDI Regional Directors and Alternates: 

Region 1:

Ramona Nitz, Director
Cherokee County

John Kooiker, First Alternate
Sioux County

Robert Ladd, Second Alternate
Lyon County

Region 2:

Rick Wadle, Director
Pocahontas County

Brian Waldstein, First Alternate
Buena Vista County

Nancy Bohl Bormann, Second Alternate
Kossuth County

Region 3:

Fred Abels, Director
Grundy County

Jon Gisleson, First Alternate
Floyd County

Jim Everts, Second Alternate
Grundy County

Region 4:

Don Elsbernd, Director
Allamakee County

Jeri Thornsberry, First Alternate
Black Hawk County

Region 5:

Randy Caviness, Director
Adair County

Pete Hobson, First Alternate
East Pottawattamie County

Bob Zimmerman, Second Alternate
East Pottawattamie County

Region 6:

Cathy Ayers, Director
Warren County

Cindy Valin, First Alternate
Polk County

Delbert Kaldenberg, Second Alternate
Warren County

Region 7:

Jack Boyer, Director
Tama County

Larry Jons, First Alternate
Linn County

Hank Wehrman, Second Alternate
Benton County

Region 8:

Paul Ackley, Director
Taylor County

Darwin Hanson, First Alternate
Page County

Region 9:

Jeff Olson, Director
Henry County

Don Niebuhr, First Alternate
Monroe County

Alica Bales, Second Alternate
Van Buren County